A certain post on FB about a Korean Temple caught my attention one idle Thursday afternoon. The intricate designs and the thought of having a Korean Temple an hour trip away from Manila made  my feet itch. My curiosity was sparked even more upon knowing that the temple is actually a shrine dedicated to a Korean Saint because I never thought that there is one. So three days after seeing that FB post, I was able to persuade my sister to come with me to fill my curiosity.

wp-image-965972083jpg.jpeg

The temple is actually a shrine located in Brgy. Lolomboy, Bocaue, Bulacan. It was built sometime in 2009 and is dedicated to St. Andrew Kim-Taegon – the first Korean-born Catholic priest. 

St. Andrew Kim was ordained by Bishop Ferreol in Shanghai, China on Aug. 17, 1845, beatified by Pope Pius XI on July 5, 1925 and was canonized by Pope John Paul II on May 6, 1984.

I have always been amazed by unique structures and this shrine is no exception but unfortunately, we were not able to explore the inside since it was closed.

Would have loved to know the specific details of each structure but I was too shy to ask the only Nun I saw during our visit, so I just took as many pictures as I can and reminded myself to google about the place when I get home.


Getting there:

From SM north take an SM Marilao bound UV express, fare is php 45/head. At SM Marilao, ride a jeep that would pass by Lolomboy and tell the driver to drop you off at McDo Lolomboy, fare is php7/head. Your landmark will be McDo and Jollibee (the only McDo & Jollibee that you would see along the way). Beside McDo is a small road with some sort of a waiting area and tricycle terminal. From there, you could opt to ride a tricycle or just walk your way to the shrine. We opted to ride a tricycle for a fare of php16 (both for me and my sister) but the shrine is really just a short walking distance from the main road.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

